13 Amazing Books Like Percy Jackson Series

Books Like Percy Jackson

Rick Riordan books have done enough for all the readers to set their voyage into the adventurous fantasy lands. And, by ‘enough’ I mean books like Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series, with five supplementary books and four graphic novels.

But, the question is have you had enough of it?

No! You didn’t and that is the reason you have landed here for more books like Percy Jackson.

Don’t Worry! You are at the right place and will get your answers with amazing books added in your must-read books list.

Books Like Percy Jackson

I have added these novels in the list of books similar to Percy Jackson considering their elements of writing and story in common with Percy Jackson’s.

Though the plots of the story will be different, the thrill and adventure will be the same or more.

1. The Apothecary by Maile Meloy

The Apothecary - Maile Meloy - Books like percy Jackson

A fourteen-year-old boy Janie has recently moved to London from Los Angles. Here he becomes friends with Benjamin, a boy who aspires to be a spy.

When Benjamin’s father got abducted they had to unveil the secrets from apothecary’s sacred book, the Pharmacopoeia, in order to find him. They need to protect it from the Russian spies who possess nuclear weapons.

On the quest of finding Benjamin’s father, Janie and Benjamin set their journey on the dangerous path of saving Apothecary and impending the disaster.

2. A World Without Heroes by Brandon Mull

A World Without Heroes - Brandon Mull

A World Without Heroes is the first book of the Beyonder Series written by Brandon Mull.

Everyone likes a happening life and so did Jason. Until one day while he was in the zoo, he heard some music coming from the Hippo’s mouth. He leaned in to see and suddenly hippo swallowed him.

Instead of being digested, he was transported to some other world known as Lyrian. Things are not as peaceful as they used to be in the past in this world as they no more welcome the visitors from the past.

On his way back home, Jason met a girl, Rachel who has also accidentally fallen into this place. Together they decide to destroy the new wizard emperor Maldor and they hope that they would save this world without heroes.

3. Mark of the Thief by Jennifer Nielsen (Series)

Mark of the Thief - Jennifer Nielsen - books similar to percy jacxkson

Mark of the Thief is yet another amazing book for someone looking for similar books like Percy Jackson. And, if you like reading about the ancient Greek and Roman histories then this is the perfect book for you.

Nic is a slave in the mines outside of Rome. His life is changed when he finds a bulla in the mines which ones belong to Julius Ceasar. The bulla has strange powers that after finding it Nic became the most wanted men in the Roman Empire.

After wearing the bulla amulet and with the power in his veins, Nic decides to free himself from slavery. Instead, he finds himself at the center of a ruthless conspiracy to overthrow the emperor and spark the Praetor War, a battle to destroy Rome from within.

4. The Colossus Rises by Peter Lerangis (Seven Wonder Series)

The Colossus Rises - Peter Lerangis

The Colossus Rises is the first book of the famous book series, Seven Wonder Series by Peter Lerangis. This series is based on Greek mythology and revolves around the seven wonders of the ancient world.

Jack McKinley is an ordinary boy but with an extraordinary problem. He needs to find loculi that when combined can cure him. He needs to find it as soon as possible because in a few months he is going to die.

The only problem is the loculi are the relics of a lost civilization and haven’t been seen in thousands of years. However, they might be hidden in the Seven Wonders of the ancient world.

Peter Lerangis is one of the gems who are considered in the list of authors like Rick Riordan. You are going to have so much fun while reading this books series.

5. Sea of Trolls by Nancy Farmer (Series)

Sea of Trolls - Nancy Farmer

This is a story about two siblings; 11-year-old Jack and his little sister, Lucy. They are the slaves of Olaf One-Brow and his fierce young shipmate, Thorgil.

Jack and Lucy are kidnapped by Vikings and taken to the court of Ivar the Boneless. But Jack’s life becomes worse when he sets his journey on the quest to find the magical Mimir’s Well at the cost of his sister’s life.

You will be sailing through these 500 pages to find out what happens next to Jack and Lucy.

6. The City of Ember by Jeanne Duprau (Ember Series)

The City of Ember - Jeanne Duprau

The City of Ember is a post-apocalyptic science fiction written by Jeanne Duprau. It was published in 2003 and is followed by The People of Sparks as the second book in the series.

This time a city is saved by two children; Lina and Doon.

Ember was built hundreds of years ago by the builders with everything for human survival. But soon the city will run out of food and crops. Ember is under the dark shadows of the corruption which will be soon engulfed in the darkness.

The climax of the story is when Lina and Doon discover the fragments of an ancient parchment which can save Ember. But, Will the people of Ember listen to them?

Alike Percy Jackson books, The City of Embers is also a pulse-pounding page-turner novel and I think you should definitely read it.

7. Sweet Venom by Tera Lynn Childs (Medusa Girl Series)

Sweet Venom - Tera Lynn Childs

Three girls, three different locations but have all of them looks exactly like one another.

Grace has just moved to San Francisco and is very excited to start her new school. Things get changed when a minotaur walks in the door and a girl who looks like her replica fights with the monster.

Gretchen is tired of pulling out by a monster on the unexpected hour. But she has never thought of running into a girl who exactly looks like her.

So far, Greer’s life is normal. But her world turns upside down when she sees two girls, almost similar to her and claims that they are triplets.

You don’t need to think twice for choosing this book as your next book like Percy Jackson.

8. Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer (Series)

Artemis Fowl - Eoin Colfer

Artemis Fowl Series is as happening and thrilling as the Rick Riordan series. It is a series of eight science-fiction fantasy novel. By 2020, the first two books of the series will be adapted as a movie by Disney.

Artemis, the protagonist of the story is a twelve years old boy and a millionaire. This teenaged genius is a criminal mastermind. He has kidnapped a fairy, Captain Holly Short of the LEPrecon Unit to exploit the magical Fairy people.

Don’t misunderstand the fairies as the bedtime fairies rather they are dangerous. Read this books series and help Artemis to restore his family’s fortune.

9. The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan (Kane Chronicles)

The Red Pyramid - Rick Riordan

Set in the ancient Egyptian times The Red Pyramid has been on the New York Times number one bestseller list. This is the first book of the mystical adventure followed by Throne of Fire and The Serpents Shadow.

First time after their mother’s death, Carter and Sadie are together for a trip with their father Julius Kane. As his said promise to set everything right, Julius Kane summons the accidentally God of Evil while their trip in the museum.

Carter and Sadie embark their journey to find their father who has been kidnapped by the Gods. Many secrets will be revealed and they will come closer to the truths about their family and its links to the House of Life.

10. The Flame of Olympus by Kate O’Hearn (Pegasus Series)

The Flame of Olympus - Kate O’Hearn

Percy Jackson fans will be more than happy to read this fantastical adventure book.

The story begins when Pegasus, a winged horse, crashes into the Manhattan roof during a horrifying storm. Emily found the Pegasus and was impelled to be the centre of the mythical war between the Roman gods and a terrifying race of multi-armed stone warriors called the Nirads.

Later she was allied with a thief named Paelen, the goddess Diana, and a boy named Joel who helped her to return Pegasus to Olympus.

Emily is all set to fight with monsters and to fly with Pegasus before the time is out.

11. Incarceron by Catherine Fisher (Series)

Incarceron - Catherine Fisher

Incarceron is a vast and ‘living’ prison. It has its own world inside where the view of the outside world is blocked for the descendants of the original world prisoners who live in its darkness.

Finn was born in the Incarcseron and has never been to the outside world. But his haunting visions from outside always encourage him to escape the Incarceron.

In the outer world, Claudia, daughter of the warden of the prison is trapped on her own kind of prison. She is stuck in her arranged marriage and is determined to escape from it.

Things change for both of them when they find a silver crystal key through which they both can talk to each other and make a plan to escape from their respective prisons.

This story is unbelievably amazing and will take you to the fantasy world where you would never want to escape from.

12. The Ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan (Ranger’s Apprentice)

The Ruins of Gorlan - John Flanagan

Rangers are the warriors who protect the kingdom. They are highly trained in their skills required on the battlefields and they fight the battles before the battles reach to the people.

However, 15-year-old, Will has a completely different concept in his mind for the Ranger. He is scared of them and like other villagers, he also believes that rangers practice magic that makes them invisible to ordinary people.

But now, Will has been chosen as one of the Ranger’s Apprentice and he has no clue that there is a large battle about to outbreak as the exiled Morgarath, is planning to attack.

This is the internationally bestselling series with the sale of over 5 million copies in the US alone. This epic story of villains and heroes is worth read after reading Rick Riordan book series.

13. The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan (Magnus Chase Series)

The Sword of Summer - Rick Riordan

The Sword of Summer is the first books of the Magnus Chase series and has been the winner of Goodreads  Choice 2015.

Magnus Chase is living a lonely life ever since his mother has told him to run. He is always ahead of the police and is surviving on his wits on the streets of Boston.

He finds out that his uncle Randolph about whom his mother has always warned him is tracking him down. Now, Randolph is in the clutched of Magnus. He rumbles about the Norse history and Magnus’s birthright of having a weapon which has been lost thousands of years ago.

This is the latest books series of Rick Riordan and soon the fourth book will be added in the series.

Final Words

The perks of reading books similar to Percy Jackson is you need not go on those risky rides for the adrenaline rush. The storyline of these books gives you enough thrill and fantasy to get high on adrenaline.

So, I am going to pick Incarceron by Catherine Fisher as my next read. The reason being, its mysterious story plot. I think it would be fun to enter such a mystical world.

Tell us about your favorite adventure fantasy in the comment section