15 Books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Books Like Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Ohh I see! You are a huge Diary of a Wimpy Kid fan. *wink*

So am I. I used to laugh every time Greg would make some mistake and would feel bad when his attempts to fit in were backfired on him. Indeed, it is a light-read and entertaining book.

But, what after finishing such an amazing book series like Diary of a Wimpy Kid? Of course, you would miss being the part of Greg’s routine and the illustrations of the book.

No worries! I will not let you survive in school without your fictional friends.

Here your search for books like Diary of Wimpy Kid ends!

I do think that Diary of a Wimpy Kid books is a must-read for the mid-school and high-school students. They have helped many kids to face the challenges of those awkward years and no doubt that these kind of books for children are actually helping them to cope with situations.

Books Like Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Here is the list of books similar to Diary of a Wimpy Kid. These books are liked by children of different grades and reading levels and most importantly you will never find the content irrelevant while reading these books.

So, let’s go ahead to make some additions in your TBR List.

1. Harriet The Spy by Louise Fitzhugh

Harriet The Spy books like diary of a wimpy kid

Louise Fitzhugh published Harriet The Spy in 1964. It was awarded as the New York Times Outstanding Book and has sold over 4 million copies till date.

Harriet M. Welsch is an eleven-year-old girl who aspires to be a writer and likes to spy. She owns a notebook in which she writes everything she has seen about her neighbors, friends, and family.

Harriet’s habit of spying is encouraged by her nanny, Ole Golly who thinks that this can help her in improving her writing skills. Until one day, when her notebook is lost and lands in the wrong hands of her classmates.

It is interesting to read how Harriet deals with the situation where she has to justify all her truth and somewhat personal notes about people.

2. Timmy Failures: Mistakes Were Made by Stephan Pastis (Series)

Timmy Failures: Mistakes Were Made

Reading Level: 8-12 Years 

The Timmy Failure Series is created by New York Times best-selling cartoonist Stephan Pastis in the year 2013. Mistakes Were Made is the first boo of this humorous series.

Timmy Failure is just a normal kid with slightly fancier dreams. He is the CEO of the company, Total Failure Inc., the best detective agency of the nation. He dreams of being so rich that his mom doesn’t have to worry about the bills anymore.

Total, 1,500 pounds polar bear is the business partner with Timmy and they both together run this company. Timmy and Total spend their days solving crimes for other kids. The troubleshoots when his mother’s Segway is misplaced and it becomes hard for the best detectives to find it.

You are going to love the adventures with this self-comical character, Timmy Failure.

3. The Strange Case of Origami Yoda by Tom Angleberger (Series)

The Strange Case of Origami Yoda: A similar book to diary of a wimpy kid

Reading Level: 8-12 Years 

The Strange Case of Origami Yoda is a children’s novel by Tom Angleberger. This is the first book of the series and was published in 2010.

Tommy has a weird friend, Dwight. Dwight does uncanny things like wearing the same t-shirt for a month and making people call him ‘Captain Dwight’. But the weirdest of all was making an origami figure puppet of Yoda who gives wise advice.

The problem was, Dwight was so clueless about his own life then how can Yoda be so wise? Tommy starts an investigation on ‘The Strange Case of Origami’ because he needs to know whether he can take Yoda’s advice on some important matter or not.

This creative book story ranks on the top for the recommendations for books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

4. The Last Kids on Earth by Max Brallier (Series)

The Last Kids on Earth

Reading Level: 10-15 years

This is one of the best children’s illustrated novel written by Max Brailler and illustrated by Douglas Holgate. It has been added on the list of New York Times and USA Today.

In this thrilling book, Diary of a Wimpy Kid meets The Walking Dead.

Jack Sullivan, a 13-year-old boy who has managed to survive in the treehouse after Zombie Apocalypse. He is stuck in it with the videogames, endless supply of Oreos, and Mountain Dew from the abandoned stores.

However, this is not going to last forever and he needs to stop the zombies which obviously he cannot do alone. So, he builds a team with his best friend, pet, crush, and a bully.

This is an ultimate graphic novel with horror and humorous narration.

5. Big Nate by Lincoln Pierce (Series)

Big Nate Series books like diary of a wimpy kid

Reading Level: 8-14 Years 

New York Times Bestselling Book Series, Big Nate is written by Lincoln Pierce in 1991. It is an American Comic Strip which has inspired many books collection and theatrical performances.

Books like Big Nate and Diary of a Wimpy Kid are the little elements which just help you add on the thrill in the school life.

This books series is the collection of eight books narrating the story of a sixth-grade boy, Nate Wrights. Nate hates going to school and thinks he is good in everything despite the fact that no one has ever seen him succeed in anything.

You are going to love the adventures and misadventure of Big Nate’s life.

6. Dork Diaries: Tales From Not So Fabulous by Rachel Russell (Series)

Dork Diaries

Reading Level: 9-13 Years

If Diary of a Wimpy Kid is categorized for boys then books like Dork Diaries is for girls. (Though, I don’t believe you can restrict the audience of a book.)

Dork Diaries is written and illustrated by Rachel Renée Russell. It is written in a diary format with doodles, comic strips, and drawings which will grasp on the kid’s attention.

Nikki Maxwell is a fourteen-year-old girl who struggles to fit in the new school and mostly involves herself in writing everything in her diary. It is traumatic for her to survive in the school with the wealthy, designer-clad, and popular kids.

Once you would read this first book of the series, you won’t be able to resist the other 12 books of the collection.

7. The Treehouse Adventures by Andy Griffiths (Series)

The Treehouse Adventures series books like diary of a wimpy kid

Reading Level: 7-15 Years

You cannot delay anymore in reading this fantastic book series. Reason being, this book will take you to the world about which you had always dreamt of.

Treehouse Adventures is written by Andy Griffiths and illustrated by Terry Denton. The book chronicles about a magic treehouse which keeps on increasing its story. Andy and Terry are two friends who are living in the treehouse with so many distractions which no one would ever want to escape from.

The treehouse has a bowling alley, library full of comics, a room where you can celebrate your birthday on any day, vines you can swing on, a games room and many other unexpected fun activities.

With every new book in the collection, there would be few more stories added up in the magic tree house and lots of adventure.

8. The Terrible Two by Jory John And Mac Barnett

The Terrible Two

Reading Level: 8-12 Years 

How cool will it be to witness a prank battle between the two best pranksters?

Miles Murphy is the best prankster in his old school. He has recently shifted to a new place, Yankee Valley. This sleepy town is famous for only one thing; Cows.

Miley doesn’t like this place much, not because of its popularity for cows but for the fact that town has a great prankster. Now if he had to take the title then he has to raise the game.

There is not a single reason not to like this terribly hilarious and terribly wonderful book.

9. El Deafo by Cece Bell

El Deafo

Reading Level: 8-12 Years 

El Deafo is written and illustrated by Cece Bell, published in 2014. It is said that she has chronicled a part of her life in this New York Times Bestseller Book.

It is being hard for Cece to adjust in her new school where she was stared by everyone. Going to school was not a big deal when everyone was deaf like her, but in this new school, her huge Hearing aid machine is the topic most talked about.

Then Cece makes a startling discovery that she can be El Deafo, superhero. With her Phonic Ear, she could not only hear the teacher in the classroom but also, from wherever her teacher goes. And all these superpowers is making her feel more and more isolated in the school.

It is one of the most inspiring books for children. You can learn how to fit in differently. You might like this humorous book very much after reading the Wimpy Kid books series.

10. Zita the Spacegirl by Ben Hatke (Series)

Zita the Spacegirl Series

Reading Level: 8-12 Years

Ben Hatke is the author and illustrator of the New York Times–bestselling Zita the Spacegirl trilogy.

Zita’s life turns upside down when she unintendedly lands on some strange planet. She was in a quest for her abducted best friend and finds herself as a stranger among the weird looking creatures.

This book is a fun read with a captivating story. Thus, making it perfect for the ones who liked reading Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

11. How to Eat Fried Worms by Thomas Rockwell

How to Eat Fried Worms books similar to diary of a wimpy kid

Reading Level: 8-12 Years

I know this book’s title is way weirder than most of Greg’s activities, but still, it is worth a shot. If you could be friends with Greg from the Diary of a Wimpy Kid then Billy won’t be a tough one.

How To Eat Fried Worms is written by Thomas Rockwell and was originally published in 1973. Earlier, it has been the frequent target of censors but later it was included in the CBS story break episode in the mid-1980s and was also adapted in the movie of the same name in the year 2006.

Billy, the protagonist of the story, is always challenged by someone to complete a dare. But, this time things had taken a step forward. Alan betted Billy to eat fifteen worms in fifteen days. And, if he did so, he would get 50 dollars from Alan.

With eloquent writing and witty illustrations, this hilarious classic book will make a place in your heart.

12. Alvin Ho by Lenore Look (Alvin Ho Series)

Alvin Ho

Reading Level: 6-9 Years

This can be the best book for all the reluctant readers as well as for the ones who are looking for books similar to Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

Alvin Ho is written by Lenore Look and illustrated by LeUyen Pham in 2008. Several times it is compared with the Wimpy Kid books and is perfect for the fans of children’s book.

A second-grade boy, Alvin, who scares from everything like tunnels, bridges, substitute teachers, school, darkness, heights, and what not. When he is around his family, he becomes an outspoken and a loud person but he is completely opposite in school.

Alvin Ho Series has 6 books in the collection and this is the first book of the series.

13. Wonder by R. J. Palacio

Wonder by R. J. Palacio

Reading Level: 8-12 Years

Wonder is considered as one of the best children’s novel and has been a revolutionary book for a community. It was written by Raquel Jaramillo under the pseudonym, R.J. Palacio in the year 2014.

The book chronicles the story of Auggie Pullman who studies in fifth-grade. For the first time, he is going to the mainstream school and because of his facial deformation, he is not treated as a normal kid.

It is a story of an extraordinary kid who asks for normal attention. You are going to love Auggie Pullman and wouldn’t be able to stop thinking about him.

14. The Brilliant World of Tom Gates by Liz Pichon (Tom Gates Series)

The Brilliant World of Tom Gates books like diary of a wimpy kid

Reading Level: 8-12 Years

The Brilliant World of Tom Gates is one of the top-selling U.K series by Liz Pichon, published in 2011.

The comedian Tom Gates is a middle school-grade student. He is a master of excuses and rock-star wannabe. All he wants is to trouble her weirdo big sister, Delia and to do some of his stuff and one of them is to draw.

The readers of Wimpy Kid book series will love Tome Gates and his funny ways to dodge his teachers and sister.

15. Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White

Charlotte's Web

Reading Level: 7-11 Years

Charlotte’s Web is the classic of children’s literature written by E.B. White author of Stuart Little in 1958.

Charlotte’s Web is a must-read book for children. It is the story of a girl chronicled by a spider’s web. The spider’s web tells about her feeling for her pig friend Wilbur. He also talks about a girl named Fern, who has saved Wilbur’s life.

This is a story of friendship, love, life, and death which has been enjoyed by many kid readers and will continue to be enjoyed by generations to come.

Final Words

I know it can be difficult for you to choose a book from such an amazing books list of similar books to Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

But don’t be too hard on yourself in choosing one book. Just go with the list and read as many as you can. Remember books will take you to a world where roads cannot.

The Treehouse Adventures Series is my favorite book and I can re-read it for thousand times. I can never be over that fantasy land where I would get everything one could ever wish for.

If I have missed any similar books to Diary of a Wimpy Kid, then let us know in the comment section.