8 Amusing Books Like All The Bright Places

Books Like All The Bright Places

It’s crazy how books like All The Bright Places leave such a powerful impact on the reader’s mind. Not to mention a million times when you get teary eyes while reading Jennifer Niven’s beautiful narration of mental illness.

So, these are the recommendations I can give you after reading All the Bright Places twice. Yeah! I have read it TWICE! Just to feel those intense emotions in my bones.

All these books that I have mentioned in the list of novels like All the Bright Places are fledged with heartbreaking, beautiful young adult fictions.

So, try not to skip any of the suggestions. 

Top Recommendations For Books Like All The Bright Places

Here are the books related to All The Bright Places, covering topics like suicide, depression, and anxiety in a compelling way.

  • If I Stay by Gayle Forman
  • Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow
  • Turtles All The Way Down by John Green
  • Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaria
  • My Heart and The Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga
  • The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson
  • It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
  • Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven

1. If I stay by Gayle Forman

I bet you will listen to the voice of Mia in your head, so clearly that when she screams for help you might stand up from your chair only to realize that you cannot do anything.

The writer of Just One Day and Just One Year released her another bestselling book in 2009. If I Stay is about, Mia Hall, a 17-year-old young girl. For one moment she was sitting in the car with her family and the next moment she is standing outside her body seeing the fatal accident.

You cannot ask for anything more suitable after reading All The Bright Places than If I Stay by Gayle Forman.

2. Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

I found Girl in Pieces very much similar to All the Bright Places. Because of the fact that this book also stayed with me long after I’ve read it, just like All the Bright Places did.

Charlie Davis who had lost so many people in her life at seventeen than most people do in a lifetime. With time, she has learned how to calm herself in the storms.

She has learned not to talk about her father and the bridge, or the fact that her best friend is gone forever or to think about her mother who has nothing left to give her.

Like Charlie, you will also live in her dark world but will also trace the path back to the normal world.

3. Turtles All The Way Down by John Green

While reading Turtles All The Way Down I felt like sitting in the head of the protagonist and seeing the world from her perspective.

Turtles All The Way Down chronicles the mental illness of Aza. Just like any other normal teenager, Aza is also living her life. But the only thing that differs her from others is the ever-tightening spiral of her own thoughts that never ends.

It is a story of lifelong friendship, love, loss, and grief. I recommend this book to the ones who like reading an intense book full of emotions.

I find this story plot similar to All The Bright Places because they both share a common central theme of mental illness. Also, we cannot deny the fact that these devastating stories are the most inspiring of all.

4. Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaria

Reading about the loss and grief won’t be a tough task for you if you had survived reading All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. (No one gets more intense than Jennifer Niven)

Laurel is grieving on the mysterious death of her sister, May. When teachers asked the class to write the letters to the dead, Laurel chooses Kurt Cobain as her sister loved him. The days passed and she wrote everything in her letters from her high school days to her first love.

And finally, laurel accepts the things about what had happened to her through the letters. But her throat still chokes when she tries to accept what had happened to May.

5. My Heart and The Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

You are going to love My Heart and The Other Black Holes the debut novel by Jasmine Warga if you liked All The Bright Places

This book was published in 2017. It tells about the story of a sixteen-year-old Aysel who is a physics nerd. Also, she is much obsessed with plotting her own death that she finds a website which connects the people with the same intentions of suicide.

Aysel finds her Suicide Partner – Roman. But now she needs to make an ultimate choice between wanting to die or to see the love kindling between her and Roman.

6. The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

Moving ahead with the list All The Bright Places related books…

The debut novel The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson has ruled many hearts just like All The Bright Places.

Lennie Walker studies in the American high school has recently gone through the death of her older sister. She finds herself torn between her sister’s boyfriend and the new boy in the town.

Knowing the fact that they cannot collide into each other, not when she needs them desperately to cope with her grief.

7. It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

Like any other ambitious teenager, Craig Gilner also wants to enter into the right college to get the right job and eventually living the best future.

But when Craig’s hard work paid off and he got admission in the best college. he felt inferior from other kids. He found himself to be just average and fell into the endless pit of pressure and stress.

The next moment he admitted into the mental hospital and was finally able to defy his anxieties.

So if you’re looking for books like All The Bright Places then It’s Kind of a Funny Story is a great choice.

This edgy story about the suicide mates showcases mental illness in an amazing way that you can’t resist from adding it in the TBR List.

8. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Yeah, this one is also a new coming of age story like All the Bright Places.

In this book, you are going to meet Charlie, a shy and an introvert high school student. He writes letters to someone whom we may not know. These letters are more intimate than a diary mentioning everything about the world Charlie shares.

You are going to sit on this roller coaster ride of growing up and feel everything that these days offer you.

Final Words

These were my recommendations for the books that I found highly related to All The Bright Places.

For now, the list ends here. But soon the list will be updated. I have added a few more books of the same category in my TBR List.

And I will add those books in this article. So that you can also relive all those feelings that All The Bright Places gave you and relish the pleasures of reading.

You must also check out