Amitav Ghosh Short Biography – Books, Education, Marriage & Achievements

Quick Facts About Amitav Ghosh

Amitav Ghosh


July 11, 1956

King’s New School

West Bengal, India

Young Amitav at School
Young Amitav at School

Amitav Ghosh Short Bio

Amitav Ghosh was born on 11 July 1956 in West Bengal. He is an Indo-American Writer very well known for his works in English Fiction. His father name was Shailendra Chandra Ghosh who was a lieutenant in the Indian Army. His mother name was Ansali Ghosh.


st. Edmund Hall, Oxford
St. Edmund Hall, Oxford: Amitav College

Amitav Ghosh Education

Amitav Ghosh completed his basic education at the all-boys Doon School in Dehradun, Uttarakhand, India. After that, he went for higher studies and received the degree from St. Stephen’s College, Delhi University, and Delhi School of Economics. He then won the Scholarship to complete a D.Phil. in Social anthropology at St Edmund Hall, Oxford.


Amitav Ghosh's Wife: Deborah Baker
Amitav Ghosh’s Wife: Deborah Baker

Amitav Ghosh  Married Life

The name of Amitav’s wife is Deborah Baker, who is an author of the Laura Riding Biography In Extremis: The Life of Laura RidingRead and also a senior editor at Little, Brown and Company.  Both are blessed with two children, Lila and Nayan. Lila and Nayan both work in the finance industry in New York.


Padma Shri Award
Amitav Ghosh Won Padma Shri Award in 2007

Amitav Ghosh Notable Achievements

Amitav Ghosh awarded the Padma Shri by the Indian government in 2007. His book ‘The Circle of Reason’ won one of France’s top literary awards, Prix Médicis étranger. ‘The Shadow lines’ by Amitav Ghosh won the Sahitya Akademi Award and the Ananda Puraskar. The ‘Calcutta Chromosome’ won the Arthur C. Clarke Award for 1997. The Sea of Poppies written by Amitav Ghosh was shortlisted for the 2008 Man Booker Prize. Amitav Ghosh received the lifetime achievement award at Tata Literature Live, the Mumbai LitFest on November 20, 2016.


Books Written by Amitav Ghosh

The notable works of Amitav Ghosh are mentioned below,
• The Circle of Reason (1986)
• The Shadow Lines (1988)
• The Calcutta Chromosome (1995)
• The Glass Palace (2000)
• The Hungry Tide (2004)
• Sea of Poppies (2008)
• River of Smoke (2011)
• Flood of Fire (2015)

Non-Fiction Novels

• In an Antique Land (1992)
• Dancing in Cambodia and at Large in Burma (1998; Essays)
• Countdown (1999)
• The Imam and the Indian (2002; Essays)
• Incendiary Circumstances (2006; Essays)
• “The Great Derangement: Climate Change and the Unthinkable” (2016)

Official Contact Information

Website: Amitav Ghosh Official Website

Twitter handle: @GhoshAmitav


Also Read: William Shakespeare Short Biography




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here